So What Will You Be Doing For Christmas This Year?

13snowmanmerrychristmas

Christmas is at our house again this year, which is just the way I like it. I’ll be doing the cooking, which I really don’t mind, because it gives me a chance to show off my culinary skills. I actually do have them, I just don’t get to use them that often. I’ve just managed to finish the Big Christmas Shop today, and when I go and collect TTG from the airport tomorrow, his job will be to choose the alcohol.

This is my menu this year:

    Starters

Pork and Apricot Pate (I can never remember how to get the French accent on my keyboard), served with melted applewood-smoked cheese on French toast, accompanied by mixed salad and tangy orange sauce.

Or:

Tomato and basil soup served with crusty white cobs

    Main Course

Stuffed roasted chicken, seasoned with lemon pepper, accompanied by creamed button sprouts, broccoli and cauliflower, honey-glazed roasted potatoes, my special cheesy mashed potatoes and swede, sausage wrapped in Applewood smoked bacon, and pork, cranberry and apple stuffing.

    Desserts

Baked nutmeg and cinnamon creamed rice pudding, Christmas pudding and custard (a shout out to TTG’s mum for making the Xmas pudding)freshly made raspberry trifle, or lemon cheesecake.

This year’s Xmas entertainment will include a Nintendo Wii tournament, Pictionary challenge, and a Trivial Pursuits competition.

As always, I’m looking forward to spending time with my family. We are all incredibly close, and I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be on Christmas Day, than spending time with the ones I love the most.

What will you guys be doing?

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m buried in deadline hell this year, and hosting Christmas for my family, just like I did at Thanksgiving.

    So I’m making lasagna, salad and rolls because it’s easy. We did the whole turkey and fixings extravaganza at Thanksgiving but I’m out of time and energy to do it again for Christmas.

    Can I have dinner at your house? Yours sounds so good. *grin*

    Hope you and yours have a very Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. We’ll eat for 4 days straight.
    ~ Christmas Eve at my MIL’s for Oyster Stew and Crab cakes (I’m bringing Artichoke dip and fruit triffle).
    ~ Christmas morning brunch at my house – sausage / bacon / ham, cheese quiche, various sweetbreads, bagels and lox, coffee bar and mimosa’s.
    ~ Christmas dinner back at my MIL’s. Ham dinner, with a Lasagna backup. (I’m bringing cookies, pies, and booze)
    ~ Day after party at my sisters. I’ll be on the road most of the day, so I’ll just be bringing cookies.
    ~Day after day after party at my sisters, with all the siblings, spouses, grandparents, and kids. Ham and turkey for 30, more sides than there is counter space, and so many desserts we’ll have to keep them in the cars until we clean the kitchen.

    Every year we seem to agree we cook too much. Then the next year, we try to outdo the year before.

    Merry Christmas and / or Happy Holidays to you, and all your loved ones. I hope 2009 is a year of blessings for you all.

    Reply

  3. Karen, your menu sounds absolutely delicious! If I bring some homemade ice-cream, can I come, too? 🙂

    We’ll have the family affair on Christmas Eve (which is the day Christmas is celebrated here in Germany) and will have potato salad and sausage. Two years ago, my Dad cooked a somewhat more elaborate menu, my great-aunt complained about how long the whole meal took, and from then on, the evening was sort of ruined. Hence, potato salad and sausage.

    Oh yes, and I’ll provide the homemade icecream (Christmas chocolate, maple walnut, and red berries) for dessert.

    On Christmas Day, my Dad will cook his traditional Christmas dinner, consisting of oven-baked goose, mashed chestnuts (yum!), potato dumplings, and red cabbage.

    When we’re not eating, I’ll have to work on an article I had to hand in weeks ago … *blush* Not to speak of the dratted dissertation and the pile of corrections that still await me (and they’re going to be horrible: it appears that quite a large number of my students – all of them students of British Literature!!! – don’t even know what the capital of Scotland is. Or who might be the patron saint of Ireland. Oh yes, and some of them seem to think that cotton grows on woolly baa-sheep. *head desk*).

    ~*~

    Merry Christmas and a very happy new year to you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by West on December 23, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Well, since I’ll be surrounded by my family… I’ll be drinking. What? It’s a valid coping mechanism. 🙂

    Oh yeah, and I’ll also be doing all the cooking. Ham, turkey, dressing, roasted garlic mashed potatoes, potato casserole, rolls, pumpkin pie… yeah, and a whole lotta rum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

